I worked for Christie Civil during both of my Internships and received a broad assortment of experience during both of these six-month blocks. I worked on several different sites, which included the ascent of an RTA owned route to the redevelopment and building of parts of the Holsworthy Army Barracks.

I found out about Christie Civil through the university-run web site I2MS. I applied for the advertised place, every bit good as many others every bit shortly as they became available online. Although I did n’t have a answer every bit shortly as I would hold liked. About 2 and a half months after I applied for the occupation, I received a phone call and an invitation to hold an interview with the companies Sydney director, Martin Carey. I felt the interview went really good and I was ab initio happy with my first feelings of the topographic point and the people. One hebdomad subsequently I was one of the two successful appliers and began work on the 1st of August 2007.

In the semester before my 2nd internship, I contacted Christie Civil in the hope of obtaining some information about a site I had antecedently worked on, for a university assignment. It was so when the Project Manager I was speaking to, inquired about where I was working for my 2nd internship and invited me to come back and work for them. Since I enjoyed working at that place, and I felt that I antecedently had n’t learnt every bit much as I could hold, I decided to return to the company.

About the company

Christie Civil is a medium sized building company that specializes in civil catching within the Sydney part. For over 40 old ages, Christie Civil has worked as a Quality Endorsed company whose typical range of plants includes:

Foundations ( hemorrhoids, termss, belowground constructions, shoring and underpinning )

Bulk and detailed Earthworks

Subdivisions ( Site clearance, roads and drainage, services )

Concrete Structures ( Bridges, H2O and effluent intervention armored combat vehicles, detainment armored combat vehicles )

Integrated Servicess ( mechanical/ electrical/ hydraulics/ public-service corporations )

Retaining Walls

Car Parkss and Pavements

Environmental Redress

Christie Civil employs over 35 people including many Civil applied scientists, Undertaking Managers and Foreman. On a typical site, Christie Civil provides the On Site Over Heads ( OSOH ) and normally subcontracts skilled labor ( such as carpenters, pipe fitters and linemans ) to professional companies with a good repute and a proven record. The company besides frequently works in concurrence with a labor hire company called Christies People, as both companies were founded by the same individual.

First Internship 2007/2008

During my first internship, I worked with Christie Civil for over 6 months between August 2007 and February 2008. Throughout this clip, my function varied significantly as the Christie Civil direction squad placed me in several different places so that I might derive experience within different facets of the company ( see Figure 1a ) . The major functions I had are explored below:

Figure 1a )

Site Engineer

As a site applied scientist I was given the duty of fixing and keeping all of the Quality Assurance ( QA ) certification sing the building sites to which I was assigned. The QA paperss fundamentally provide a system in which to supervise the advancement and quality of the building processes guaranting that it is done in a safe manor, to an acceptable criterion.

Regularly I was required to:

Conduct site initiations, which were aimed at foregrounding the of import safety regulations and ordinances for anyone new to the site.

Prepare and keep Safe Work Method Statements ( SWMS ) which describes the appropriate safeguards that must be taken in order expose possible jeopardies and minimise their hazards.

Give tool chest negotiations to the subcontractors and labourers. These negotiations outline current safety issues and highlight the appropriate action that is to be taken in order to keep a safe workplace.

Conduct Safety and Environmental Checklists. These checklists highlight any possible jeopardies that may hold come about during building. E.g. Excavations greater than 1.5m that require fence.

Prepare, maintain and subscribe off on Inspection and Test Plans.

Record and supervise the location of freshly placed concrete batches.

Correspond with the Client

Aid the undertaking director

Aid the labourers

I was assigned to two chief sites during my first internship, the first of these being the building of a sewage overflow armored combat vehicle merely off Gunnamatta Bay in Cronulla, NSW. This site fundamentally involved the remotion of an bing retaining wall, the digging of the cavity for the armored combat vehicle, the building of the 5m x 3m armored combat vehicle and the Restoration of the wall and the surrounding workss. It was merely a reasonably little, two month occupation with a budget of about $ 300,000.

The 2nd site I was assigned to on my first internship was a immense multi-million dollar building and redevelopment undertaking of the Holsworthy Army Barracks. On this site, several companies were subcontracted to John Holland to finish specific facets of the occupation. Christie Civil had the function of unearthing the trenches, puting the storm H2O pipes and the building of the roads throughout the site.

Systems Engineer

As a Systems Engineer I was based in the caput office, but was on a regular basis required to see the different sites and behavior Project Review Meetings ( PRM ‘s ) with the Foreman or Project Managers. The information from these PRM ‘s were collected and collated to organize a set of OHS statistics which aim to compare the figure of hours worked, with the figure of Work Related Incidents ( WRI ‘s ) and loss clip hurts sustained. This allowed the company to derive an overall image of public presentation with a focal point on Occupational Health and Safety. Besides it is a necessary process to turn out the companies safety records and to construct the companies reputation as a safe working company. This is done for the interest of tendering and as certification in instance an authorization audits the company.

Calculator

As an calculator I assisted the gauging division in ciphering the monetary value of the different occupations for which we were tendering. This involved communication with the Senior Estimator and mentioning to several technology drawings in order to cipher the cost of the procedures involved with the different occupations. For illustration from the technology drawings we could cipher the approximative volume of stuff to be excavated. We could so come close the clip this would take for a certain excavator to finish, and so we would acquire several quotation marks from our subcontractors in order to roll up a competitory stamp for the prospective client.

Other

In concurrence with the major places explored above I besides had many other less specific functions within the company. Regularly I was required to drop off stamps, purchase tools, conduct decrepitude studies, cod information sing possible work sites, print and construe technology drawings and follow instructions as needed.

Second Internship 2009/2010

After my first Internship I felt that I had non learnt every bit much as I could hold at Christie Civil, hence I took up an offer to return to the company for my 2nd internship. During this clip, I worked for ‘Christies ‘ for over 7 months between July 2009 and February 2010. As a consequence of my old experience, I spent less clip larning the Immigration and Naturalization Services and outs of my function within the company, but instead, was put out on one of the company ‘s major occupation sites straight off.

Throughout the class of my 2nd internship I worked on two major sites, the first site involved the ascent of Hillsborough Rd, a reasonably major RTA route located in the bosom of Warners Bay near Newcastle. As a site applied scientist on this peculiar occupation I was required to make much of the same work I had done during my first internship, although holding a period of about one and a half old ages off from the company I was fortunate to hold another site applied scientist with me for the first few hebdomads to remind me of my function. This peculiar site was unlike any other occupation I had worked on prior, because the building client was the RTA. This meant that I was required to read through and understand many RTA specifications to make with the right procedure for the building of an RTA route, and subject all the testing and grounds that was need to turn out to the RTA that the building complied with the specifications. Specifically, this involved submitting Hold Point Release Forms ( See Appendix A ) , to the RTA at peculiar phases of the building procedure, and waiting for them to O.K. the quality of peculiar facets of the current building, before we could go on.

Learning Results

The acquisition results addressed below were chosen because they are non straight looked at elsewhere in the study. Eg. I did n’t include the learning result about moralss, because it is straight references in the Ethics subdivision.

to reexamine past experience, so as to be after and fix for future workplace engagement at a alumnus and professional degree.

After reexamining both of my internships, and my university experience as a whole, I think that in the immediate hereafter after graduation, I would wish to acquire a occupation as a design applied scientist to see a different side of my profession. An older civil applied scientist said to me when I foremost began my grade was that in his experience, the best design applied scientists are the 1s who had worked in building beforehand, because they know the practical workings of the occupation and can use their experience while planing. So I intentionally went about looking for a occupation a site applied scientist for my first and 2nd internships. At university I have enjoyed and found satisfying, the design subjects such as concrete design and steel and lumber design, and could candidly see myself prosecuting that kind of thing as a calling. I would besides wish to accomplish Chartered Professional Engineering Status to farther open up chances for my calling throughout my life.

to polish and develop your attack to procuring employment for professional technology pattern

Since both of my internships were in building, I hope to finally acquire into technology design, where I can integrate the practical experience gained from working on site with the designs I am required to finish. As a consequence I have been looking out for, and concentrating my attending to companies which are actively involved in both the design and building facets of technology. I could utilize my building experience to acquire into the company, and so hopefully travel on to more of a design function within the company.

to widen your cognition of workplace civilizations and organisational behaviour

Working in the building industry, gave me the chance to larn about and be amongst two really different workplace civilizations. The difference between the civilizations on site and in the office is excessive. Workplace civilization in the office was professional which meant we were required to have on bloomerss and a collared shirt. The ambiance in the office was serious compared to the site as most of the people I worked with in the office were skilled applied scientists and undertaking directors. In the same manner, this was confirmed by the fact that everyone worked in their ain office, softly without dither. On site nevertheless, there was many practical gags and a batch of cursing. Work was done to maintain on agenda, but at that place was n’t a major push for completion. Most yearss were comparatively stress-free and for the most portion everyone got along. There was no set clip for tiffin interruptions, and sometimes the chance to work through tiffin and finish early.

to develop a critical footing for understanding rules of direction, and of planning and design

Throughout my work experience I have had much more to make with planning and building instead than design. I have worked closely alongside a few different building directors. I have seen and helped with much of the work they do and seen what is required of them to acquire the occupation done. Similarly I have been assigned to building undertakings from their beginning, and have been involved in the initial planning of a occupation. My work experience besides has been complimented with topics I have studied at university, such as Construction and Engineering Project Management, whereas topics like Concrete Design and Steel and Timber Design, have introduced me to the foundational constructs behind design, which I hope will someday come into usage in the close hereafter during my calling.

to develop and show effectual communicating accomplishments appropriate to professional technology

Communication was one of the indispensable accomplishments I needed in order to finish my occupation decently. As explored above, working in the different workplace civilizations of site and the office, required me to be able to pass on efficaciously, with different types of people. Typically, when in the office I would be speaking to applied scientists and Undertaking Managers. As a consequence, the conversations were by and large more technically based frequently mentioning to specific design specifications and technology drawings. On site nevertheless, conversations, if about work, were sing the practical facets of the building such as ‘getting the grader to pare the route base down 20mm ‘ .

to associate the theoretical cognition gained in your experience to your surveies, so as to be able to use it in your finishing touch undertaking

During my internships, I found that a batch of the stuff and technology cognition I had gained at university was reinforced through my practical experience. Subjects such as ‘Surveying ‘ , ‘Construction ‘ and ‘Engineering Project Management ‘ provided priceless readying for what I was to larn while working on building sites throughout Sydney. Working on site, nevertheless, helped me to see the bigger image of civil technology and how each phase of the technology procedure … from initial construct, to plan and eventually building of a undertaking, is merely every bit of import as each other. Other topics such as ‘Steel and Timber Design ‘ and ‘Concrete Design ‘ besides introduced me to the other side of technology, which I am yet to see in a workplace environment. All of this experience will turn out to be a great resource to pull from when finishing my Finishing touch.

to place chances to widen your technology cognition

Since I have had all of my experience within the building facet of Civil Engineering, I would wish to ab initio prosecute a calling within a design confer withing company so I can broaden my experience. I have enjoyed finishing topics such as steel and lumber design, and concrete design and would love the challenge of using the accomplishments I have learnt in those topics, every bit good as acquiring a more elaborate apprehension of technology design within the existent universe. Besides I love the thought of residential design, and hopefully one twenty-four hours with adequate experience, I might be able to plan my ain house.

to develop schemes for collaborative and life-long acquisition

I have found that one of the most simple and good patterns to set about for womb-to-tomb acquisition are to inquiring inquiries. The field of Civil Engineering is so wide, that it is rare to happen an applied scientist that can be an expert at it all. Hence, during my internships, I needed to inquire inquiries, non merely to understand what I needed to make as a site applied scientist, but besides to understand the grounds for making such things like environmental review studies, or for utilizing stuff such as to a great extent bound route base, as opposed to oppress sandstone, during the building of roads.

to develop schemes to procure mentoring and to advance squad work

While working for Christie Civil, I was fundamentally assigned to helping one peculiar undertaking director on all of his sites. The Project Manager became kind of a wise man to me, as he would be the first individual I would reach if I had any inquiries or issues. In the same manner, I have an uncle and a few friends whom are experienced Civil Engineers, and I have frequently asked for their advice while unsure about peculiar assignments while at university. During my calling, if the company I work for does n’t delegate me to a wise man specifically, I would travel about seeking person within the company who would be happy to sit down with me to reply any inquiries I might hold, besides I hopefully would still be able to speak to my uncle and civil technology friends if they work within the same sector of civil technology.

to reflect on, and constructively reexamine, your co-workers ‘ pattern to assist them in their academic, professional and personal development

The chief topographic point I have been in a place to constructively reexamine co-workers work is at university. As an intern I surely was n’t in a place to constructively reexamine my Undertaking Managers work, nevertheless, I was required to develop up another houseman, and in making so I needed to learn him how, and to reexamine the work he had done. In peculiar, there was one juncture where he completed a ‘Project Review Meeting ‘ but it was non done in adequate item, so I had to reexamine it with him, and highlight the chief countries of concern before registering the study. At university nevertheless I have worked on plentifulness of group assignments, where I have been required to constructively reexamine members of my groups work. Recently, I found a error in one of the other group members work for a computing machine mold and design assignment. I went over and gently pointed out the error, but it still took farther account to convert her that she was incorrect.

Career Episode Reports

Career Episode Title: Road Extension, Templar Rd Erskine Park

Dates of Career Episode: 01.11.09to 01.12.09

Length of Career Episode: 30days

Competency Element Claimed

This undertaking involved the extension of Templar Rd, Erskine Park farther into an industrial country, to suit for the addition in traffic to the country as a consequence of new major industrial developments in the country. My function as a site applied scientist was fundamentally to move as a span between the office and this site, maintain and care of the QA Documentation, collaborate with the chief and labourers and liaise with the undertaking director.

While I was working here, I was on a regular basis required to pull off my ain clip and procedures. I frequently would travel between the office and the site to go to meetings, run errands and present points of significance such as review studies. To do the most out of each twenty-four hours, I would be after my clip and path consequently to avoid peak hr traffic and find the most efficient manner to finish my undertakings.

Frequently during the twenty-four hours, I would be required to get by with alteration, both in my ain day-to-day agenda or in the concluding design of the undertaking. Sometimes I would be on site and I would acquire a call from the company director inquiring if I could run an errand for him. On one peculiar juncture, I was asked to drive back to the company office to pick up some of import stamp paperss and drop them off at the Sydney Water caput office. I was required to re-adjust my agenda for that twenty-four hours, and prioritise my undertakings and finish them consequently. Similarly, throughout the undertaking there were several design alterations. Initially as portion of the undertaking we were required to construct a big turning bay towards the terminal of the route, which was designed so big trucks would hold easy entree in and out of the environing industrial warehouses. Merely as we were fixing to get down the digging for this portion of the route, the client changed the design and wholly removed the turning bay. I was required to accommodate and alter a batch of the QA certification such as Inspection Test Plans ( ITP ‘s ) and the Lot Plans, in order to suit for the design alteration.

On site, I was required to finish surveying and grading undertakings in a timely mode. Due to the nature of the site, the client, Penrith City Council, would direct out a senior applied scientist to inspect the degrees of each bed of the route to guarantee that we were constructing the route to the design degrees. I was responsible for guaranting these degrees were right before the senior applied scientist arrived to inspect. I did this by ciphering the design degrees from the technology drawings and so utilizing a laser degree to look into the existent route degree. If the existent degree did non fit the design degree I would inquire the grader operator to set the existent degrees suitably, all before the reaching of the Penrith City Council ‘s Senior Engineer.

C3.1: Manages Self

C3.1a

C3.1e

C3.1c

Signature of Candidate: ………………………………………………………………………

Candidate ‘s Verifier/s Name: …………………………………………………………………

Verifier Engineering Qualifications: …………………………………………………………..

I verify that the above narration is a true history of the campaigner ‘s ain work

Verifier Signature: ………………………………………………………………………………

Career Episode Title: Hillsborough Rd Upgrade, Warner ‘s Bay ( portion 1 )

Dates of Career Episode: 05.07.09to 20.08.09

Length of Career Episode: 45days

Competency Element Claimed

This undertaking involved the ascent of Hillsborough Rd, Warner ‘s Bay to co-occur and suit for the building of a new shopping composite which serviced the Warner ‘s Bay and greater Newcastle country. As a site applied scientist on this site I was required to go up to Newcastle and pass several yearss a hebdomad supervision, and keeping all the QA Documentation, whilst join forcesing with the client to guarantee that the route was constructed harmonizing to the design.

My function in peculiar required a batch of communicating. I was invariably inquiring inquiries, composing electronic mails, directing studies and corroborating meetings with my Undertaking Manager, the client and the site chief. This in itself required me to alter the manner I communicate, depending on whom I was speaking to. For illustration, there is a really different workplace civilization on site with the chief and labourers on site, compared to the office with the Undertaking Managers and Engineers. I would hold to alter my attack to communicating and linguistic communication I would utilize, depending on the context. When speaking to my undertaking director, or the client, I by and large would speak with proficient nomenclature, speaking about specific facets of proving such as the ‘RTA approved NAASRA Road Roughness Test ‘ or I would do mention to specific studies such as ‘ITP ‘s ( Inspection Test Plan ) or ‘Hold Points ‘ which were required by the client at the terminal of the occupation.

On one peculiar juncture, I was required to fix all the site certification for an external audit conducted by a company called SAI Global. It took about a hebdomad to acquire everything in order, and I was rather nervous because the hearer was fundamentally traveling to be evaluation the organisation and completeness of the site certification and hence, my public presentation as a site applied scientist. At the terminal of the audit, the SAI Global representative highlighted merely 2 minor countries which could be improved. My Undertaking Manager turned around and agitate my manus and said ‘good occupation ‘ and that he was non truly concerned about the minor issues. This event helped me to develop and keep the trust of and assurance of my undertaking director and the other staff involved, that I was capable of executing to the needed criterion.

As an Intern working on this site, I came across many new and different stuffs and procedures used to construct this route, compared to what I had encountered earlier. As an RTA route, the stuff was by and large to be of higher quality, with better stuffs used and significantly more strict proving done during building. As a consequence I systematically needed to seek replies from internal ( my undertaking director ) , and the external ( the client representative ) beginnings. I asked inquiries about the benefits of utilizing peculiar stuffs ( such as Heavily Bound Base, a route base with fly ash and other cement-like belongingss. )

C3.2: Works Efficaciously with Peoples

Signature of Candidate: ………………………………………………………………………

Candidate ‘s Verifier/s Name: …………………………………………………………………

Verifier Engineering Qualifications: …………………………………………………………..

I verify that the above narration is a true history of the campaigner ‘s ain work

Verifier Signature: ………………………………………………………………………………

Career Episode Title: Hillsborough Rd Upgrade, Warner ‘s Bay ( portion 2 )

Dates of Career Episode: 21.08.09to 15.10.09

Length of Career Episode: 60days

Competency Element Claimed

This undertaking involved the ascent of Hillsborough Rd, Warner ‘s Bay to co-occur and suit for the building of a new shopping composite which serviced the Warner ‘s Bay and greater Newcastle country. For the 2nd half of this undertaking I continued working as a site applied scientist, nevertheless as the occupation neared its decision, I was required to concentrate more on finalising the official certification to be submitted to and signed off by the RTA representative.

In order to understand what precisely was required by the RTA, I need to read through, understand and invariably refer to the RTA Road Construction specifications. Whenever I found the specifications to be equivocal, I contacted the RTA Rep for elucidation as to what he really required, hence I identified the client ‘s demands. These specifications required me to regularly complete and submit ‘Hold Point ‘ and ‘Witness Point ‘ Forms to the RTA Representative at critical phases of the building procedure. On one juncture the ‘hold points ‘ were sent back before being signed off because they did non incorporate adequate item. For illustration, A clasp point signifier was required to be submitted before the building of each new bed of the route. On this peculiar blink of an eye I submitted the clasp point signifier sketching that the antecedently completed bed ( e.g. the crushed sandstone ) had passed all the geotechnical trials and inquiring for permission to go on with the following bed. The RTA rep so sent the clasp point from back and outlined that I needed to be more specific about the chainages where the crushed sandstone had been tested and passed.

One of the major set of paperss I was required to subject to the RTA was the ITP ‘s or Inspection Test Plans. These were Christie Civil Documents that detailed the methods of building and testing of each building procedure throughout the full occupation, e.g. , Heavily bound base, Storm H2O, Asphalt etc. It besides required the site applied scientist and client to subscribe off after each procedure had been completed. For illustration, the ITP for the Heavily Bound Base stated the specific type of stuff to be used, the degree of compression which was to be achieved and the methods of proving among other things. As the occupation went on, it was my function to subscribe off on each of the ITP processes one time they had been completed. I so on a regular basis submitted these studies to the client to document the company ‘s advancement, before eventually subjecting the full completed set of ITP ‘s, along with all of the Hold points and Witness Points, and other needed paperss, as one complete record of the occupation.

C3.5: Maintains client focal point and relationships with clients

Signature of Candidate: ………………………………………………………………………

Candidate ‘s Verifier/s Name: …………………………………………………………………

Verifier Engineering Qualifications: …………………………………………………………..

I verify that the above narration is a true history of the campaigner ‘s ain work

Verifier Signature: ………………………………………………………………………………

Social Responsibility

Social Responsibility has become one of, if non the forefront issue in technology in the last 20 old ages. A civil applied scientist is responsible and accountable to rest of society for planing, technology and constructing in a manner which will non harm or hold desperate effects for the surrounding environment and its residents. During my internships I found that the two major ways in which Christie Civil work towards a sustainable hereafter is foremost through the bar of pollution, and secondly through recycling.

On about every site I went on, there were different steps taken to forestall the pollution of the environing countries. While I worked in Cronulla, we temporarily installed a silt roar in the subdivision of the lake nearest to the site. This was to forestall dust and silt and any other signifier of pollution from the site, from leaking into the natural environment. Similarly, on the Holsworthy site, we temporarily installed little silt filters above all the stormwater drains in the country for the same ground. The usage of a H2O cart to maintain the land moist was a common tool to forestall the spread of dust, whereas every truck ( including its wheels ) needed to be comparatively clean before go forthing site, so that any clay or other stuff on the truck would non acquire by chance dropped in public.

In the same manner, on the Warners Bay and Erskine Park sites I worked on silt fencings were installed around all the storm H2O drains in the country, so as to forestall soil and dust and other stuffs from come ining the drain and being spread into the environment. On these sites in peculiar, Christie Civil hired a bay lynx with a sweeper extension to continually brush the bing route of any dust and extra stuff carried off by bringing vehicles, to forestall the stuff being spread into the natural environment.

During my experience, I found that applied scientists besides by and large prefer to recycle stuffs, non merely for sustainable grounds, but because it saves money. For illustration, on the Holsworthy site we were required to build roads. This involved the elaborate digging, puting and compression of route base and so eventually the laying and compression of asphalt. In this case, on another one of the company ‘s sites, they were acquiring rid of metric tons of sandstone. Fortunately for us, the sandstone complied with the Australian Standards for a route base. Consequently, the undertaking director at Holsworthy recycled the sandstone from another site, by re-using it as route base.

Ethical Practice

Ethical motives is fundamentally the moral codification or set of criterions to which person has been shaped as a consequence of their civilization, faith or society. As a consequence, moralss is a wholly subjective construct, in that something that I might see incorrect or inappropriate might be ok for person else. Nevertheless the earnestness of moralss can non be underestimated. I believe that moralss is an particularly of import subject for the civil applied scientist, as what they do has a direct impact on society as a whole. Therefore, the effects of bad determinations could perchance hold immense branchings. For me personally, my ethical model has been preponderantly shaped by my Christian religion.

One of the major ethical issue I faced while on my internship, involved the undertaking director and undertaking chief inquiring everyone to subscribe a Safe Work Method Statement which they had changed but dated it as if it was months before. The incident arose after an excavator about hit some overhead power lines. Upon recognizing that this issue had non been highlighted in the Safe Work Method Statement ( which should be signed upon initiation ) , the undertaking director edited the papers, including the new issue and re-printed it. He so asked all the labourers and other people involved to subscribe the SWMS as if it were months before, when they signed the original papers. In my unity, I could n’t subscribe the papers and prevarication about the day of the month on which it had been signed. Fortunately since the papers outlined the procedure for majority and elaborate digging, it was n’t excessively of import that I did n’t subscribe it, as I had small to make with the physical work in this country.

On a similar juncture, while I was working on the Hillsborough Rd, Warners Bay site, one of the immature labourers was caught by the constabulary, driving a work truck without a license on a little public route, merely alongside the worksite. As a consequence, my undertaking director asked me to finish a tool chest talk sketching that all work forces must non utilize work machinery or vehicles unless they have the appropriate licensing to make so. He so asked me to acquire all the labourers and the chief on site to subscribe the tool chest talk. The chief ab initio refused to subscribe it because he feared possible effects. Alternatively of acquiring into an statement with him, I merely went back to my undertaking director, explained the state of affairs, and he confronted the chief and finally convinced him to subscribe the papers. In this state of affairs I did n’t desire to hold an statement with the chief, but I still needed the papers to be signed. As a consequence I consulted and explained the state of affairs to person higher in authorization, who of class dealt with it.

For anyone else in an ethical state of affairs I would rede them non to compromise what they believe if at all possible. In most state of affairss there is a manner around making something you do n’t believe is right. I would speak to your higher-ups and explicate the state of affairs. But if all that fails and you are still being made to make something you do n’t desire to make, You have two picks, via media or quit.

Leadership Capacity

During my first internship, after two months of working with Christie Civil, ( of which I had spent one month working on a occupation site in Cronulla ) the direction of my company decided to reassign the chief on the site to another occupation and go forth me in charge of this 1. At the clip did n’t believe I was rather ready for the duty of being a site director but welcomed the chance with unfastened weaponries. During the first few yearss I was cautious about everything. I on a regular basis rang the undertaking director for advice. As my apprehension of my function grew, so did my assurance. Being put in this place I was given duty of the subcontractors and was put in charge of the safety of the site. This added duty gave me a greater desire to desire to make the occupation decently. I found at the terminal of each twenty-four hours, I was cautious of objects on the site that could potentially be harmful. Consequently I made an excess attempt to guarantee they were placed out of injuries manner.

During my 2nd internship, nevertheless, I spent most of my clip on larger site as the ‘second in charge ‘ beneath the Foreman. On both the Warners Bay occupation and the Erskine Park occupation, the chief was required to go forth the site to pick up some stuffs or run a specific errand, go forthing myself in charge of all the machinery and labourers. Before the chief left I intentionally made a list of everyone on site, the occupations they are presently making and the occupations that they still needed to make for the twenty-four hours. So that when the chief was off and person, for illustration an excavator finished fixing the pathway, he would non be sitting around blowing clip waiting for the chief to come and give him some waies. There were several times when I needed to name the chief about specific bringings of route base to the site, and how much of the stuff he really ordered. This experience farther boosted my assurance in my leading capableness

Curriculum Vitae

Daniel RESTUCCIA

63 Arthur Street

Rosehill, 2142

Tel: ( 02 ) 9682 5287

Mobile: 0405 219 654

Electronic mail: daniel.restuccia @ gmail.com

Education

2006-Present Bachelor of Engineering ( Civil )

Diploma in Engineering Practice,

University of Technology, Sydney.

2004 Higher School Certificate,

Parramatta Marist High School

Subjects studied: Mathematicss, Mathematics Extension 1, Physics, Advanced English, Software Design and Development, Modern History and Studies of Religion.

UAI consequence: 85.25

Accomplishments

2004 Prefect at Parramatta Marist High School

2003 – Present Leader of young person group

2002 Representative association football

Skills

Computer Skills

MS Office

Ocular Basic 6.0

Microstran

AutoCAD

Personal Skills

Excellent communicating accomplishments

Willingness to larn

Leadership

Team Player

Punctual

Flexible

Organised

Employment History ( Engineering Related )

July 2009 – Feb 2010 ( Full Time ) Christie Civil Pty Ltd

Aug 2007 – Feb 2008 ( Full clip )

Christie Civil is a medium sized building company that specializes in civil catching within the Sydney part. For over 40 old ages, Christie Civil has worked as a Quality Endorsed company whose typical range of plants includes foundations, earthworks, subdivisions, concrete constructions, auto Parkss and pavings and environmental redress. ( 2 x 7 month full clip Internship and full clip on university vacations ) .

Cardinal Duties and Duties

Site Engineering

Care of QA Documentation

Site Supervision

Systems Engineering

Estimating

Following orders as needed

Correspondence with Clients and Subcontractors

Employment History ( Other )

Feb 2007 – July 2007 Fred ‘s Fruit Market

Fred ‘s Fruit Market is a local fruit and food market shop located in Edensor Park. I worked here on a parttime footing to assist back up myself financially while at university ( 8 – 16 hrs/week ) .

Cardinal Duties and Duties

Customer Service

Packing Shelfs

Order Checking

Jan 2006 – Jul 2007 ( Part clip ) Caf & A ; eacute ; de la France

Caf & A ; eacute ; de la France is a Bakery/coffee store located at Westfield, Parramatta. I worked here on a parttime footing to assist back up myself financially while at university ( 12hrs/week ) .

Cardinal Duties and Duties

Making java

Training staff

Serving clients

Fixing nutrient

Baking

Operating hard currency registry

Cleaning

Jan 2005 – Dec 2005 ( Full clip ) Trojan Youth Ministries

Trojan is a voluntary Christian Youth Drama Team, whose chief purpose is to make out and curate to immature people through play, music and personal testimonies. On fall ining Trojan, members make a annual, full-time committedness to functioning young person groups, churches, schools and the wider community.

Cardinal Duties and Duties:

Public speech production

Acting in forepart of crowds

Teaching Bible categories

Working with a squad

Facilitating young person cantonments

Covering with money

Frequently asked to take the squad

Serving as a missional in the slums of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Professional Memberships

Engineers Australia – Student Member

APESMA – Student Member

Professional Training

‘OHS Risk Management for Supervisors and Managers ‘ – Progress OHS Consultancy and Training ( 2007 )

‘Applied First Aid ‘ – Vital First Aid and Training Services ( 2007 )

‘Occupational Health and Safety General Induction for Construction Work in NSW ‘ – Work Cover ( 2007 )

Interests

Playing Guitar

Music

Soccer

Camping

Beach

Religion

War Movies

Referees

1. Martin Carey 2. Mr John Chircop 3. Mr Andrew Ialli

Manager Manager Manager

Christie Civil Fred ‘s Fruit Market Caf & A ; eacute ; de la France

Leichhardt NSW Edensor Park NSW Parramatta NSW

Mobile: 0412 004 164 Work: 9610 9833 Mobile: 0403 962 122